top of page
  • Foto del escritorPablo Ziffer

William Bolcom - Nine New Bagatelles

Tse Wei Chai - [piano]

Bagatelle I (…"and then what happened?”) requires the sharp demonstration of two contrasting moods between Grazioso and Scherzando. -

Bagatelle II (… what happened) gives an impression of the rough and brutal feeling depicted by the repetitive chords in sforzando and fortisissimo. -

Bagatelle III (… a bird comments—to another bird?) depicts the conversation between two birds. -

Bagelle IV (... Lord Lovell's Trunk) is a reference to a famous English tale of a "young bride playing hide-and seek from her elderly new husband, Lord Lovell; hiding in a trunk, she succeeds too well and is only discovered decades later, a skeleton in a bridal dress." The story is reflected perfectly in the music when the melody in the right hand is inverted in the left hand. Both melodies are constantly moving away from each other. -

Bagatelle V (… a little story) is a nostalgic piece. -The title “Take No Prisoners” in

Bagatelle VI is depicted by the long crescendo (ppp to fffz) with bitonality and unmeasured bar numbers. -Bagatelle

VII (Valse oubliable) is unique when the performer has to pretend he/she has forgotten the melody by not moving the hands during the pauses. -The slow Bagatelle

VIII (… benediction) functions as a prelude to the funeral march in Bagatelle

IX (Pavane for the dead/hope’s feathers.) -Bagatelle

IX brings the set to a conclusion with recurring

I. 0:00'

II. 1:42'

III. 2:36'

IV. 3:45'

V. 4:16'

VI. 5:08'

VII. 5:46

VIII. 6:54'

IX. 7:33'

Keenan Reesor - [piano]

Jonathan Levin - [piano]

56 visualizaciones0 comentarios
bottom of page